Upgrading Tasks

After you publish a task in Bot Builder, either to an enterprise or your spaces, you may need to change the task definition, for example, to update to a new task naming convention, or if the source system such as Twitter requires a different integration with your task. This topic describes how to upgrade a published alert task, or action task.

About Upgrading Tasks

In Bot Builder, once a task is published, you cannot delete, or directly change that published tasked. Using the Upgrade command, a duplicate of the original task is created where you can make your modifications without affecting the published version. Then, when ready to deploy, you can decide if the upgraded task is mandatory or optional for user that are already using the original published task.

Upgrade Types

Mandatory upgrades generally do not require end-user action, and users are only informed that the task was upgraded with an auto-upgrade. If a mandatory upgrade does require end-user action, for example, new authentication requirements, the end-user is notified to take the action for a manual upgrade, sent reminder notifications, and finally, expiration of the original task after 15 days.

Optional upgrades are not required, nor are auto-upgraded. If end-user action is required to complete the manual upgrade, the user can choose whether or not to upgrade.

Task Upgrade Definitions

You must also specify the version type as a minor or major update for the revision number. All published tasks begin with Version set to 1.0. A major update would set the Version to 2.0, while a minor update would set the Version to 1.1.

As part of the end-user upgrade experience, you must define the messages shown to the user to describe the upgrade, and other messages that describe what the upgrade will change.

And finally, if the upgraded task is mapped in a flow, you must review, update, and confirm existing mapping values defined in the flow. If the flows are not verified, mapped action tasks will not be displayed in the upgraded task for the end-user.

Note: You cannot publish another upgrade to a mandatory published task that requires manual end-user input during the initial 15-day deployment. 

To upgrade an Alert Task

In Bot Builder, in the YOUR BOTS section, click the Bot that is defined with the task that you want to upgrade.

In the Alerts Tasks section, click the Settings  icon for the task to upgrade, and then click Upgrade as shown in the following illustration.

 alt=

A duplicate of the published task is created with a Status set to upgradeInProgress. Right-click the Settings  icon for the duplicate task to upgrade, click Edit, modify the task as needed, and then click Save.

When you are complete with the modifications to the duplicate task, and the duplicate task Status is configured, you are ready to begin defining the upgrade publishing requirements.

In the Alerts Tasks section, click the Settings  icon for the duplicate task that was modified for the upgrade, and then click Publish as shown in the following illustration.

 alt=

The Alert Task Publish page is displayed as shown in the following illustration.

 alt=

In the Publish your Alert Task section, a read-only view of the alert task to upgrade is displayed.

In the Version Type section, select one of:

  • Minor Update - The Version number will update as a minor incremental change, for example, from 1.0 to 1.1.
  • Major Update - The Version number will update as a major incremental change, for example, from 1.0 to 2.0.

In the Upgrade section (not displayed), select one of:

  • Mandatory - The original task is auto-upgraded by Kore. The end-user is sent notifications, reminder notification, and after 15 days, the original task is deactivated. If end-user input is required, for example, for new authorization credentials, the upgraded task will not run until the end-user provides the input.
  • Optional - The end-user can choose to upgrade or skip the upgrade. If end-user input is required, for example, for new authorization credentials, the upgraded task will not run until the end-user provides the input.

In the Short Message field, enter an upgrade message to display to the user when the upgrade is offered. Normally, this is to entice the end-user to choose the upgrade, for example, This upgrade enhances performance and reduces GPS access to save device battery power. This field is limited to 256 characters, and is required.

In the Long Message field, enter an upgrade message to display to the user after the upgrade was selected. Describe specific changes, and any end-user instructions such as new authorization requirements or changes to the task.

In the Upgrade Comments field, enter a message displayed to the developer in Bot Builder on the History page for the upgraded task.

In the Flows Changes section, verify any flows that contain the upgraded task as shown in the following illustration.

 alt=

To review the task in the flow, click the Expand  icon, review flow settings and then click Update if needed as shown in the following illustration.

 alt=

When verified, click the  icon. Verified flows are displayed with a checkmark  icon.

Click Publish to publish the upgraded version of the task.

The Alert Task Publish page is closed, and the upgraded task with a new Version number is displayed on the Bot Builder home page.

Each upgraded task deployed to the Company Marketplace or space must be approved by the Enterprise Admin or space owner. The Status for the task in Bot Builder is set to Awaiting Approval until the Enterprise Admin or space owner deploys the upgraded task. When deployed, the Status for the upgraded task is set to Published.

Next Steps

After you publish an upgrade, depending on the upgrade type, such as Mandatory or Optional, the end-user may be prompted to upgrade, or notified of an upgrade on next use of the task when deployed.

Comments