Managing Rooms

On the Manage Rooms page in the Kore Space Admin Console, you can add, modify, and delete rooms. A room is a child message exchange within a space that you can define room members, and then define permissions for the room members to add or view the room posts. You can also limit access to a room for external users.

The following illustration is an example of the Managed Rooms page in the Manage Rooms module in the Space Admin Console:

To sort the list of column values, click the Arrow Up  icon or Arrow Down icon to the right of a column name. The following list describes the columns displayed in the admin console table.

ColumnDescription
Room Name The name of the room displayed in the Space Admin Console. To modify room settings, click a room name in the Room Name column. For more information, see Modify an Existing Room.
Sharing Outside Space Specify Yes or No if messages in a room are shared to other company users. Privacy options are specified in the Posting Control section on the Name & Settings tab when you create or modify a room. The default setting is No. For more information, see Modify an Existing Room.
Proxy Email Enabled Specify Yes or No if messages in a room can be posted using an email proxy. If enabled, the email address for the room is displayed on the Name & Settings tab for the room in the Email Handle section, for example, MyRoomName.MySpaceName@MyDomainName.kore.com. The default setting is No.
Created By Displays the name of the space member that created the room.
Members Displays the names of space members that can participate in a room. When all space members are participants in a room, All Members is displayed. Click to display the Participants tab for the room.

To sort the list of column values, click the Arrow Up  icon or Arrow Down icon to the right of a column name. The following list describes the columns displayed in the admin console table.

ColumnDescription
Member Name Displays the Kore user name and a thumbnail of the user profile image, if provided. By default, if an image in not provided by the user, the first letter or character of the first and last name are displayed instead.
Plan Type The Kore plan for the Kore user. One of:
  • " -- " - The user was invited to join Kore as a managed user but has not yet completed the registration.
  • Free
  • Premium
Department If defined in the Kore user profile, the company department of the Kore user.
Title If defined in the Kore user profile, the company title of the Kore user.
Space Role Displays the space member role, which can be one of:
  • Member - A managed user that is a member of a space.
  • Admin - A space member delegated the role of Space Admin by the space owner.
  • Space Owner - The user that originally created the space. A space owner can perform administrative tasks and can delegate the Space Admin role to a space member.

Note: Both the space owner and Space Admin can perform administrative tasks to manage space members.

Post Into a Room Enables or disables permissions for a space member to add a comment in a room.
Respond For Space Enables space member to respond to a message on behalf of the space. If enabled, the user can respond to a message as :
  • User
  • Space

This section describes the commands available on the Action bar for the Manage Rooms module.

The list of entries in an admin console table can be very large depending on the size of your company, for example, a list of users or spaces. To find one or more specific users, groups, or spaces, in the Search field, enter at least three characters to begin find-as-you-type. For example, enter ra and any matching entries are displayed as shown in the following illustration.

Note: The number of search terms in a search query is unlimited, however, no more than the first 20 characters of each search term is used to return search results.

To view all entries, clear the search field, and then press the Enter key.

Click the  button to display the Create a new Room dialog. For more information on adding a new room, see Create a New Room.

Click the  button to delete one or more selected rooms. For more information on deleting a room, see Delete a Room.

In This Section

Next Steps

Only space members, from your domain, or external users on your space can be added to a space room. To add a non-space member to a room, you must first add the non-space member to your space. For more information, see Enrolling a Space Member.

Comments