Change the Status of a Messaging Rule

As an Enterprise Admin or admin user, while you create and define messaging rules, the Status field is set to Unpublished by default. When the messaging rule is defined and ready to apply to the users defined for your domain, you must set the Status to Published. If you no longer want a messaging rule to be used in your domain, you can set Status or a published messaging rule to Retired. To enable the messaging rule for use again after it is Retired, set the Status to Published.

Complete the following step to change the status of a messaging rule.

  • In the Message Control module, on the Messaging Rules page, in the Status column drop-down list, set the Status for the messaging rule to modify to one of:
    • Published - The messaging rule is assigned to the specified users and distribution list members. After a messaging rule Status is set to Published, you can select Retire in the drop-down list to change the Status from Published to Retired.
    • Unpublished - The messaging rule was never available to any users or groups. Select Publish in the drop-down list to make the messaging rule available to users and groups.
    • Retired - The messaging rule does not apply for any users or distribution list members. Select Publish in the drop-down list to apply the messaging rule to the specified users and distribution list members.

Comments