After you have defined and saved a new configuration for a Kore task in Bot Builder, either an alert task or action task, the task is displayed on the Bot Builder home page with the Status set to Configured, but is not yet available to any users, except the developer, until the task is published.
About the Status
Only tasks in a Status set to Configured can be published. The Status for tasks can be one of:
- In Progress - The task configuration was started, but not yet complete.
- Upgrade In Progress - A copy of a published notification task or action task used to edit, and when configured, deploy to end-users as an upgrade for the original notification task or action task.
- Configured - The task configuration is complete, available for the developer, but not yet published for use.
- Awaiting Approval - The upgraded task is published for enterprise, but has not yet been deployed.
- Published - The task is published for personal, enterprise, or public use.
If the configuration was started, but not all configuration steps were completed, the Status for an alert or task is set to In Progress. The task is not available to any user in this Status.
When a task configuration is complete, the Status for that task is displayed as Configured. In this Status, a task is only available to the developer for use in the Kore application, and typically only for testing or private use.
Each upgraded task deployed to the Company Store must be approved by the Enterprise Admin or space owner. The Status for the task in Bot Builder is set to Awaiting Approval until the Enterprise Admin or space owner deploys the upgraded task. When deployed, the Status for the upgraded task is set to Published.
You can publish a task to make it available to your company that you are an enterprise member of.
To publish a task
In Bot Builder, in the BOTS section, click the Bot that is defined with the task that you want to publish and Status is set to Configured.
In the Notification Tasks or Actions Tasks section, click the Settings icon for the task to publish, and then click Publish as shown in the following illustration.
In the Publish your Alert Task or Publish your Action Task dialog, the task to publish is displayed as shown in the following illustration.
- Company Marketplace - The task is published to the Enterprise Admin for your company. The task is not available to any company users until the Enterprise Admin deploys the task, and then assigns the task to company users.
- My Space(s) - The task is only available to the selected spaces. The task is not available to any space rooms until the Space Admin deploys the task, and then assigns the task to one or more rooms in the space.
Click Publish to deploy your task to the specified destination. The Status for the task is set Published.
Choosing a Destination
A task with Status set to configured is only available to you as a developer for testing and personal use.
When publishing to Enterprise or Space, the Enterprise Admin or Space Admin must first deploy the Bot, and then after deployment, assign the Bot to specified users, groups, spaces, and rooms. After a task is published to the company or space, the Status is awaitingApproval until the Enterprise Admin or Space Admin approves the task.
You can only choose one destination for each task. In other words, if you deploy a task to a space, you cannot delete, or publish that same task to another destination, such as an enterprise. To make the same task available to your spaces as well an your enterprise, clone the task, and then publish to another destination.
Deploying a Published Task in the Enterprise Admin Console
In the following illustration, the My New Task Bot alert is published to the company displayed in the Enterprise Admin Console in the Bots module on the Marketplace tab, but is not yet deployed.
In the Status column, the Enterprise Admin can set the task to Deploy. However, even after a task is deployed, the task is still not available to any users until the Enterprise Admin assigns the task to users, groups, or spaces on the Deployed tab on the Manage Deployed Bots page in the Enterprise Admin Console.
When you publish to Space, the Space Admin must deploy the task, and then assign the deployed tasks to specific rooms in that space to make it available to room members.
Deleting a Task
If a task is not longer needed, you can delete the task. When a task is deleted, an end-user will no longer be able to run the task, however, any historical posts for that task remain intact.
To delete a task, in Bot Builder, in the Alerts Tasks or Actions Tasks section, click the Settings icon for the task to delete, and then click Delete.
After your task is published, deployed, and assigned to users, groups, spaces, and rooms, it is ready for use in the Kore application.